The Sci-Fi Awards announce the 52nd edition winners

Mb | Jul 21, 2021 | Reading Time: 3 Min.
After the nominees are revealed, the 52nd Seiun Sci-Fi Awards have announced their winners. The event celebrates the highlights of the past 2020 calendar year within the genre (i.e. works released between January 1 and December 31 of last year). The categories include Japanese written works and international works that have been translated into Japanese.

In the manga area, Hozuki no Reitetsu by Natsumi Eguchi and Kimi o Shinasenai tame no Storia by Toriko Gin were the surprise winners. It should be noted that they were in competition with titles like Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba and Yakusoku no Neverland. In addition, the live-action television series Ultraman Z by Kiyotaka Taguchi and Tsuburaya Productions won the "Best Media" award.

The nominees in the media and comics categories were:

Best comic

- Koyoharu Gotouge, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba (complete in 23 volumes)
- Toriko Gin, Kimi wo Shinasenai tame no Storia (complete in eight volumes)
- Natsumi Eguchi, Hozuki's Coolheadedness (complete in 31 volumes)
- Kaiu Shirai and Posuka Demizu, The Promised Neverland (complete in 20 volumes)
- Norimitsu Kaihō and Sadoru Chiba, School-Live! (complete in 12 volumes)
-Masao Ohtake, Hinamatsuri (complete in 19 volumes)

Best media

- Deca-Dence (TV anime series)
- NHK drama Kishibe Rohan wa Ugokanai (live action TV series)
- Keep Your Hands Off Eizouken! (Live action film)
- Ultraman Z (live-action television series)
- ID: INVADED (TV animation series)
- BNA: Brand New Animal (TV anime series)
- Demon Slayer - Kimetsu no Yaiba - The film: Mugen Train (anime film)
- Eiga Precure Miracle Leap: Minna to Fushigi na 1-nichi (anime film)
- Drifting Dragons (TV anime series)
- Maeda Kensetsu Fantasy Eigyōbu (live-action film)